Reviews

“Amazing properties, very tasteful and a great location.Dot and Steve are the perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble.”

Rob H June 2018

“The best of Assos………. The accommodation couldn’t be more perfect; the hosts Steve and Dot are absolutely lovely and so helpful, the apartment itself is equipped with everything you need, has fantastic views, great facilities (very good air con!) and the decoration is absolutely stunning. Such a comfortable apartment and great outside space too. A brilliant stay – would very highly recommend!! Thanks Steve and Dot!“

Emily &Taki July 2018

“ Beautiful comfortable haven in beautiful Assos………. We were met by the owners Dot and Steve and given a warm welcome- lovely little personal touches on arrival.Katafygio 2 was beautiful- the door opened into a wonderful main bedroom very tastefully and comfortably furnished .The room was spacious with plenty of storage. The kitchen is galley style but well thought out with everything you’d need.The bathroom was also very nicely decorated and designed. Outside is a lovely terrace with lounge chairs and a bistro table and chairs. We ate breakfast here most mornings- the view down onto Assos bay is stunning. The studios are very well positioned- just a few minutes walk from the village- 3 restaurants, a beach bar, 2 mini- markets, 2 shops and a beautiful calm and clear bay for swimming. You do need a car unless you don’t intend to leave the village- it’s a steep drive of hairpin bends but you get used to it. When we did venture out it was to Fiscardo, Myrtos beach and AgiaFimia where we hired a small boat for the day. The village is very relaxed and the NefeliAnaid restaurant was our favourite. The people are very friendly and there is a good mix of different nationalities which adds to the atmosphere. But my greatest praise goes to Dot and Steve for their hospitality and the opportunity to stay in their beautiful studio.See you next year!!! “

Caron and Paul July 2018

“ Superb……… Fantastic accommodation in a beautiful little village. Katafygio studios very comfortable & attention to detail second to none. Incredibly well equipped & bed the most comfortable one I’ve ever slept in away from home! Steve & Dot the owners are very hospitable & on hand to deal with any query or problem you may have. Highly recommended! “

Judith M July 2018

“ Lovely studio in a fantastic location!…………Lovely place to stay in the beautiful village of Assos. Just 5 minutes or less from the village centre and the beach. Finished to a high standard with attention to detail and even a glass of wine!. Steve and Dot are great hosts, always on hand if you have any questions or need advice.”

Ed and Moira June 2018

“Great location, beautifully finished – everything we needed…………Steve and Dot were great hosts, and have furnished the studio beautifully. They had thought of every small detail which made our stay even more enjoyable. The studio is perfectly situated to capture amazing views of the harbour, and is within a couple of minutes walk from the beach and restaurants. We’d highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quaint, relaxing property in Assos.”

Jenni S   June 2018

“Fantastic time, we will definitely be back………This was our first visit to Assos for ten years and our stay in Dot and Steve’s studio apartment made our return all the better. We are already planning our return trip next year.  Everything about the apartment was perfect and Dot and Steve couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful. Thank you so much.”

Gary D June 2018

“It was absolutely fantastic, beautifully done and every small comfort  supplied……….This property is heavenly. Beautifully decorated , incredibly comfortable and every small aspect had been so carefully thought out. The balcony was enchanting , gorgeous flowers , small lights, lovely painted furniture. It was fabulous to sit there and have breakfast or just to relax. A minutes walk to the most stunning bay. I can not fault this place and can’t wait to return. Dot and Steve were charming. So helpful if needed”

Clare M June 2018

“Having travelled around much of the island the north is definitely the best part and Assos is the most beautiful location there. We were expecting the apartment to be perfect for us having gone through all the photos and read all the reviews so it was no surprise that it was! It was a surprise to find that we had an excellent view of Assos from the balcony though as the photos didn’t really show that well. The highlight of our stay was hiring a boat and touring the most amazing isolated bays and beaches for the day. Steve and Dot will be able to recommend a reputable company based in Fiskardo. Don’t be tempted to pay extra for a higher powered boat though as we did – we’d have chipped our teeth if we’d got it up to full speed!”

 

Gareth W October 2018

“Steve & Dot have worked wonders on their Katafygio studio apartments in Assos. The decor is tasteful and welcoming. They seem to have thought of everything. The bed was EXTRA comfy and we enjoyed a good night’s sleep every night. We were welcomed with a bottle of local wine, milk, tea, coffee, bottled water and biscuits to ensure that we could relax for a while before having to pop to the local shop (which is only 1 minute’s walk away). The local tavernas and beach are also only a couple of minutes walk from the studios. Assos itself is a most beautiful haven which remains largely unspoilt and has changed little in the last 10 years. If your thinking of visiting Kefalonia, make sure you stay in Assos and we would highly recommend Katafygio.”

Jonathan N  September 2018

“The apartment was well appointed, very clean and welcoming. The location is ideal as it allows you sit and read quietly beneath the bougainvillea, or wander down the short distance to the harbour front to a selection of consistently good places to eat and drink, as well as swimming from the beach in the safe, clean, turquoise sea. Steve and Dot are charming, informative but unobtrusive hosts, who do their best to make sure that your stay is memorable. Ours certainly was, and we would definitely recommend the apartments to friends and family. Thank you.”

Sarah S  August 2018

“A little slice of Mama Mia! Luxuriously comfortable, spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfasts on the terrace looking out to the bay and the magnificent backdrop of the mountains – breathtaking. Wonderful hosts, nothing too much trouble for Dot and Steve. Assos is the real hidden gem of Kefalonia, recommend dining at Planatos for local specialities – the goat stew was fab! Fish everywhere is delicious, would highly recommend Katafygio to anyone – we have already booked to return next year!”

Paul S  August 2018

“Well appointed. Home away from home. Perfect situation over looking beautiful Assos with charming hosts. A little gem!”

Elaine H  July2018

“We enjoyed our stay here very much. The owners, Dot and Steve, are very kind and hospitable. In decorating and setting up the studio, they have anticipated the needs of their guests which we appreciated. The decor is lovely, the terrace/patio is delightful. The bed is very comfortable which is very important to us when we travel. The location was perfect for us – Asos is quaint and fun without seeming too “touristy”. We would highly recommend staying in this studio and we absolutely would return! Many thanks, Dot and Steve!”

Shannon S  July 2018

“Stunning property with amazing decor inside and out – Steve and Dot have done a brilliant job – they gave thought of everything! So friendly and helpful. Great space outside with amazing views of the beautiful Assos. Thank you so much Steve and Dot – our stay was so memorable for all the right reasons!”

Panagiotis M  July 2018

“The accommodation couldn’t be more perfect; the hosts Steve and Dot are absolutely lovely and so helpful, the apartment itself is equipped with everything you need, has fantastic views, great facilities (very good air con!) and the decoration is absolutely stunning. Such a comfortable apartment and great outside space too. A brilliant stay – would very highly recommend!! Thanks Steve and Dot!”

Emily and Taki M  July 2018

“These studios are lovely; they have everything you could want and Dot & Steve (the Owners) were extremely helpful. They have thought of everything. The home from home touches and decor are wonderful. Spotlessly clean and the views are stunning. Thanks for a great week.”

Elizabeth O  October 2018

“Dot and Steve have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The studio is exactly as the photos shows, fresh and contemporary with the most comfortable bed. Assos is beautiful and in a perfect location. If you’re thinking of staying there next year book now so you’re not disappointed!”

Jennifer S  October 2018

“We loved our stay at Katafygio. The studio was spotless, well equipped and really homely. The stylish touches around the studio really added to the stay. Dot & Steve manage to be both welcoming hosts and unobtrusive at the same time. All in all a memorable stay.”

Jackie G  September 2018

“Steve and for were brilliant hosts showing us around the area and always on tap if needed. Assos is the most beautiful village and we are naming to visit next year with all the family.”

Christine J  September 2018

“ASOS is an absolute gem,a dream really somewhere that you hope to find but doubt that you will.The journey there is amazing in itself and the village is quiet but has enough restaurants and bars to keep you satisfied.the bay is not tidal so very safe and the water is so warm.I cannot praise our studio apartment enough again it is everything that you could wish for,spotless ,comfortable,stylish with so many personal touches and the owners are such lovely people.GO.you will not be disappointed.”

David B  August 2018

“Steve and Dot were tremendous hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The studio was beautifully presented with outstanding views over Assos Bay. Every thing we needed and more was present to make our stay special with so many classy little touches. Assos is a beautiful location. People are friendly. We had a lovely relaxing stay and didn’t want to leave.”

Pete R  August 2018

“We had an amazing few days at Dot and Steve’s….. they have created a perfect place to stay…. we can not recommend this highly enough!”

Deborah R  August 2018

“We were met by the owners Dot and Steve and given a warm welcome- lovely little personal touches on arrival.Katafygio 2 was beautiful- the door opened into a wonderful main bedroom very tastefully and comfortably furnished .The room was spacious with plenty of storage. The kitchen is galley style but well thought out with everything you’d need.The bathroom was also very nicely decorated and designed. Outside is a lovely terrace with lounge chairs and a bistro table and chairs. We ate breakfast here most mornings- the view down onto Assos bay is stunning. The studios are very well positioned- just a few minutes walk from the village- 3 restaurants, a beach bar, 2 mini- markets, 2 shops and a beautiful calm and clear bay for swimming. You do need a car unless you don’t intend to leave the village- it’s a steep drive of hairpin bends but you get used to it. When we did venture out it was to Fiscardo, Myrtos beach and AgiaFimia where we hired a small boat for the day. The village is very relaxed and the NefeliAnaid restaurant was our favourite. The people are very friendly and there is a good mix of different nationalities which adds to the atmosphere. But my greatest praise goes to Dot and Steve for their hospitality and the opportunity to stay in their beautiful studio.See you next year!!!”

Caron S  July 20

“Lovely place to stay in the beautiful village of Assos. Just 5 minutes or less from the village centre and the beach. Finished to a high standard with attention to detail and even a glass of wine!. Steve and Dot are great hosts, always on hand if you have any questions or need advice.”

Edward P  June 2018

“We did enjoy our stay in Steve & Dot studio. The little studio is full of comfort you need. The air conditioning was chilling down the place from 34 degrees outside. Bed was super comfortable and the view from the terrace was beautiful. Car park is 50 mt away from the property with plenty of space all day long and the little beach is just 20 steps away from the studio. Do not chose this place if you want a party holiday, but it’s the right place for a relaxing and stress free time. Surely we will go back there! Cris& Chris”

Chris P  June 2018